Leading the fight for safe and healthy workplaces

You are here

COSH Activist and Leadership Award Recipients

2020 | Virtual Event (en español)

Worker Justice Award winners:

Jamilla Allen, a fast-food worker from Durham, NC and a member of Fight for 15;

Maria Luisa Almanza, a longtime member of New Labor in New Jersey and a vocal organizer for domestic workers; and

Garment Worker Protection Act Committee, leading the fight for fair pay and improved safety for the essential workers in Los Angeles who are protecting all of us by producing masks and hospital robes. 

Eula Bingham Award winner Linda Delp, Director of UCLA LOSH

2019 | Baltimore, MD

Read about the 2019 awardees

Milagros Barreto, MassCOSH, COSH Trainer Award

Samantha Wooten, NHCOSH, COSH Activist Award

Peg Seminario, AFL-CIO (retired), Tony Mazzocchi Award


2018 | Baltimore, MD

Read about the 2018 awardees

Alejandra Domenzain, UC Berkeley, Labor Occupational Health Program, COSH Educator Award

Mark Catlin, SEIU (Retired) and MDC Consulting and Training, Tony Mazzocchi Award

Veronica Lagunas, Promotora, SEIU-USWW, COSH Activist Award

Wynne Family, COSH Community Activist Award

2017 | Baltimore, MD

Marianela Acuña Arreaza, Fe y Justicia Worker Center/Houston COSH, COSH Activist Award

Alan White, United Steelworkers Local 593, COSH Community Activist Award

Fernando Tapia, UFCW International, COSH Educator Award 

Jim Howe, United Auto Workers and Safety Solutions, Tony Mazzocchi Award

2016 | Baltimore, MD

Jordan Barab, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health, Lifetime Achievement Award

Lee Clark, Special Assistant to the President of Local 1549, District Council 37, AFSCME, Tony Mazzochi Award, named for the legendary health and safety activist who helped pass the original OSH Act

Randy Rodriguez, Occupational Safety and Health Committee Chair, CWA Local 6222, Houston Texas, Health and Safety Trainer Award

Nicole Marquez and Jora Trang, Worksafe, Social Justice Award

2015 │ Baltimore, MD

(Read About the 2015 Awardees) See the Awards Program

Roger Cook, Western New York COSH, Tony Mazzocchi Award

Rod Hitchler, United Support and Memorial for Workplace Fatalities, Community Activist Award

Alejandro Zuñiga, Fe y Justicia Worker Center, Trainer Award

Bethany Boggess, Fatality Data Workgroup, Health and Safety Innovation Award

Barbara Gertz, Our Walmart Campaign, Organizer Award

2013 │ Baltimore, MD

(See Conference Photo Album | Read About the 2013 Awardees)

Bill Kojola, Tony Mazzocchi Award (Video)

Adriana Martinez, Houston Area COSH - Fe y Justicia Worker Center, Family and Community Activist Award (Video)

Joyce Sagi, American Federation of Teachers, Trainer Award (Video)

Christina Iturralde and Tom Fritzsche, Southern Poverty Law Center, Activist Award (Video)

2012 | Baltimore, MD 

(See Award Ceremony Program | See Press Release for Awardees)

USW Health, Safety and Environment DepartmentTony Mazzocchi Award | (Video)

Luzdary Giraldo, NYCOSH: Trainer/Educator Award(Video)

Carmen Martino and New Labor Team: Trainer/Educator Award(Video)

Chloe Osmer, AFL-CIO and SoCalCOSH: COSH Activist Award | (Video)

Tonya Ford, United Support and Memorial for Workplace Fatalities (USMWF): Community/Family Activist Award | (Video)

2011 | Baltimore, MD

(See Award Ceremony Program)

Michael Lax, Central NY Occupational Health Clinic: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Joseph “Chip” Hughes, NIEHS: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Kathy Black, AFSCME District Council 47 and PhilaPOSH: COSH Activist Award

John Pajak, Teamsters Local 877 and NJWEC: COSH Activist Award 

Rebecca Fuentes, Workers' Center of Central New York: Community Activist Award

Katherine Rodriguez, United Support and Memorial for Workplace Fatalities (USMWF): Community/Family Activist Award

2010 | Denver, CO

Celeste Monforton, George Washington University: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Eileen Senn, NJWEC: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Pete Greyshock, SoCalCOSH: Newcomer Award

Deb Koehler-Fergen, United Support and Memorial for Workplace Fatalities (USMWF): Grassroots Activist Award

Don Sherman, Cincinnati Workers Center: Community Activist Award

Irene Herron-Steeger, WISCOSH: Lifetime Service Award

2009 | Philadelphia, PA

Charley Richardson, UMass-Lowell: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Marcy Goldstein-Gelb, MassCOSH: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Jim Celenza, RICOSH

Nichole Charles, Philaposh

Greg Siwinski, Central NY Occupational Health Clinic

2008 | Milwaukee, WI

Belinda Thielen, UNITE-HERE: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Gary Huck and Mike Konopaki, Labor Cartoonists

John Cook, Trainer

Rose Datesman

2007 | Washington, D.C.

Rick Engler, NJWEC: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Melissa King, PhilaPOSH: Community/Family Activist Award

Eric Frumin, UNITE-HERE

Peg Seminario, AFL-CIO

Linda Delp, UCLA-Labor Occupational Safety and Health Program (LOSH)

2006 | Boston, MA

Barbara Rahke, PhilaPOSH

Eddie Saipian, ConnectiCOSH

Marcy Goldstein-Gelb, MassCOSH 

2005 | Houston, TX

Dave Newman, NYCOSH

Tom O’Connor, National COSH: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Tammy Miser, United Support and Memorial for Workplace Fatalities (USMWF): Community/Family Activist Award

Loren Steffy

2004 | Washington, D.C.

Joel Shufro, NYCOSH: Tony Mazzocchi Award

Peter Dooley, LaborSafe and PhilaPOSH

Jean Carmel Sainte-Juste, MassCOSH

Jackie Nowell, UFCW 

2003 | Detroit, MI

UNITE Cintas Campaign

Roger Cook, Western New York COSH

Tolle Graham, MassCOSH

Jordan Barab

2002 | Philadelphia, PA

Bob Gurecki

Patty Hentz

Susan O’Brien, NYCOSH

Jim Moran, Philaposh